7th Civics


I Choose the correct answer:

1. The Headquarters of the UNO is at___________ .

a) Washington b) Hague c) New York

2. The _________is called the Parliament of Mankind.

a) Trusteeship Council b) General Assembly c) Economic and Social Council

3. One of the official languages of the UNO is________

a) Hindi b) German c) French

4. There are permanent members in the Security Council.

a) 4 b)5 c ) 1 0

5. The programme launched by the has successfully eradicated small pox.


II Fill in the blanks:

1. The term United Nations was coined by Franklin Roosevelt.

2. The UN Charter was signed by 56 countries on 26th June 1945.

3. The executive branch of the UNO is security council.

4. All the Trust Territories have attained self-government by the year 1994

5. The International Court of Justice is located at Hague in Holland.

III Match the following:

1. UN conference – San Francisco

2. UNO – 24 Oct 1945

3. Ban ki moon – UN secretary general

4. UN head quarters – New York

5. UNHCR – resettles refugees

IV Answer the following questions briefly.

1. Describe the emblem of the UNO.

The emblem is a map of the World as seen from the North Pole with five concentric circles.

It is surrounded by a wreath of olive branches which symbolizes peace.

The World map depicts the United Nations area of concern in achieving its main purpose namely peace and security.

2. Which are the official languages of the UNO?

The official languages of the UN are English, French, Spanish, Russian, Chinese and Arabic.

3. Mention any two objectives of the UNO

v To solve the disputes among the member countries through peaceful means.

v To maintain international peace and security.

v To develop friendly relations among nations.

v To co- operate in solving international, economic, social, cultural or humanitarian Problems.

v To promote social progress, better living standards and human rights.

4. Who are the permanent members of the Security Council?

v The Security Council is composed of fifteen members – five permanent members and ten non permanent members.

v The permanent members are Russian Federation, France, USA, UK and China.

5. What is the role of the International Court of Justice?

v The International Court of Justice is also known as the World Court.

v The International Court solves the disputes between the countries concerned.

v The Court also gives advisory opinion to the United Nations and its specialized agencies.

v It is situated in the city of Hague in Holland.

V Answer in detail.

1. Write a note on the millennium development goals of the UNO.

UNO Millennium Development Goals

v The UNO formulated the following goals for the present millennium.

· To eradicate extreme poverty and hunger.

· To achieve universal primary education.

· To promote gender equality and empower women.

· To reduce child mortality

· To improve maternal health.

· To fight against HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases.

· To ensure environment sustainability.

· To develop a global partnership for development.

2.What are the main organs of the UNO? Explain the functions of the Security Council.

Organs of UNO

The six principle organs are the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council, the International Court of Justice, the Trusteeship Council and the Secretariat.

The Security Council

v The Security Council is the second important organ of the UNO. It acts as the executive branch of the UNO.

v The Security Council is composed of fifteen members – five permanent members and ten Non Permanent members.

v The permanent members are Russian Federation, France, USA, UK and China.

v The non-permanent members are elected by the General Assembly for a term of 2 years.

v The Security Council meets every month and a new President is elected.

v The Council needs a 2/3 majority to take decisions. The permanent members have the veto power.

v (Power to say No to a decision.)


Share article: