Name of the Plant Year District/State Points to Note
Tata Iron and Steel Company (TISCO) 1907 Singhbhum district of Jharkhand. Established by
Jamshedji Tata
Indian Iron and Steel Company (IISCO) Brought under GOI in 1972 Kulti, Hirapur and Bumpur in West Bengal. Annual Capacity – 10 lakh tonnes of steel
The Visweswaraya Iron and Steel Ltd 1923 Shimoga district of Karnataka. Mysore Iron and Steel Company (MISCO)
Bhilai Iron and Steel Centre 1957 Durg district of Chhattisgarh Established with the technical and

financial support of the then Soviet


Rourkela Steel Plant It became operative in 1959. Sundargarh district of Orissa Set up with the help of the then West German firm, Krupps and Demang
Durgapur Steel Plant 1959 Bardhaman district of West Bengal. Set Up with the help of the United Kingdom.
Bokaro Steel Ltd 1964 Hazaribagh district of Jharkhand. Soviet Union’s Collaboration
Salem Steel Plant 1982 Salem District of Tamil Nadu Major producer of world class stainless steel
Vijayanagar Steel Plant Bellary district of Karnataka. Has the installed capacity of 30 lakh tonnes.
Vishakhapatnam Steel Plant or Vizag Steel Plant 1971 Visakhapatnam,
Andhra Pradesh
Help of German and Soviet technology.

Leave a Reply