Padma Bhushan, Padma Vibhushan and Padma shri Award 2016

Padma Award Has Been Presented By The President Pranab Mukherjee

The government had announced Padma awards for 112 eminent persons on the eve of Republic Day. But today 56 persons have received the awards.

The list comprises 10 Padma Vibhushan, 19 Padma Bhushan and 83 Padma Shri awardees. 19 of the awardees are women and the list also includes 10 persons in the category of foreigners, NRIs, PIOs (include one posthumous) and 4 posthumous awardees.

Here is the list of recipients:
Padma Vibhushan :
1.Founder of Reliance Industries late Dhirubhai Hirachand Ambani (posthumous),
2.Former Governor of Jammu and Kashmir Jagmohan,
3.Art of Living founder Sri Sri Ravi Shankar,
4.Indian-American economist Avinash Kamalakar Dixit and 5.Renowned dancer Yamini Krishnamurti.

Padma Bhushan :
1.Actor Anupam Pushkarnath Kher,
2.Badminton star Saina Nehwal,
3.Former CAG Vinod Rai,
4.Industrialist Pallonji Shapoorji Mistry,
5.Architect Hafeez Sorab Contractor,
6.Educationist and Journalist Dr Barjinder Singh Hamdard, 7.Scientist Alla Venkata Rama Rao and
8.Gastroenterologist Duvvur Nageshwar Reddy.

Padma Shri :
Padma Shri has been received by the 43 awardees some of them are are –
Actor Ajay Devgn,
Filmmaker Madhur R Bhandarkar,
Scientist Dr Mylswamy Annadurai,
Archer Deepika Kumari,
Celebrated chef Mohammed Imtiaz Qureshi,
Social worker Ajoy Kumar Dutta,
Folk tale artist Bhikhudan Govindbhai Gadhvi,
Businessman Dilip Sanghvi,
Folk dancer Gulabi Sapera,
Late Shri Prakash Chand Surana (Posthumous) and
Dr Nayudamma Yarlagadda etc.

The rest of the awardees, including superstar Rajinikanth, actor Priyanka Chopra and tennis star Sania Mirza will be given the honor at a separate function to be held next month.

Extra Info :
Padma Awards are given to recognize people’s distinguished contribution in various fields including art, science, social work, public affairs, medicine, literature, sports, educations, trade and industry and civil services among many others.

Leave a Reply